Mission Statement

The Arlington Young Democrats are a group of progressive and liberal individuals who provide an inclusive, growing, and empowering forum for all community members. We believe in: living our Democratic values, electing leaders who embody these values, elevating the voices of young people within the party at the local, state, and federal level, responding to the needs of the people, and furthering outreach and education while developing our future generation of leaders.


Founded in 1936, AYD is the largest Young Democrats chapter in the state of Virginia. We are comprised of Arlington advocates under the age of 35 committed to furthering our stated mission and electing Democratic leaders.

Executive Board 

mdhs President: Maggie Davis              tbhs Vice President: Tania Bougebrayel
mhhs Secretary: Melissa Howard         18403740_10211133451026898_3322127540988151094_n Treasurer: Drew Harger
kohs Public Service: Krista O’Connell clhs Political Action: Chris Leyen
jthsOutreach: Juanita Tolliver           ndhs Membership: Nicholas Dilenschneider
JB Party Rep.: Jimmy McBirney      jdhs Recruitment: Ja’el Daniely
cchs Retention: Chanda Choun           559391_3289354708031_501405396_n Publicity: Sarah Kramer
nshs Programming: Nathan Saxman nmhs Social Media: Nicole Merlene
jghs Finance: Jimmy Gastner             pmhs President Emeritus: Praveen Meyyan
AYD Caucuses:
Business, Transportation, and Finance: Bilal Ahmad and Jonathan Wang
Democratic Party Organization and OperationsChris Gray and Alan Lepore
Environment, Science, and TechnologyEric Wilson and Toora Arsala
Gender Equality and Civil Rights: Sacha Brenac and Ciara Lee
Health, Education, and LaborDaniel Matthews and Sarah Kramer
Housing, Rural and Urban Planning and DevelopmentTimothy VanWoerkom

Justice and Immigration: Bill Rice and Jimmy McBirney

Interested in joining a caucus? Email: outreach@arlingtonyoungdems.org